Set up and restore a file version

This feature is available after applying for WORKS Drive or the Standard or Standard Plus plan of NAVER WORKS Core.

You can check the version history of a file and restore it to a specific version.

The version history will be saved for the following

  • When you overwrite a file by uploading a file with the same name from the PC web or Drive Explorer
    However, on mobile, even if you upload a file with the same name, it is saved as a separate file with numbers such as (1) and (2) added after the file name. In this case, the version history will not be saved.
  • When you save a file after editing in Drive Explorer

Version history settings

Enable version history

Each user can set whether to enable the version history for documents in My Drive at Drive Version History settings

Version history is saved regardless of individuals' settings and uses shared storage capacity.

File types you can restore and storage period for file versions

Only the administrator can change the settings on the file types available to restore and the storage period for file versions.

You cannot restore to a version with the storage period expired.

View version history

Mobile

  1. Tap  of the file to view the version history.
  2. Tap 'More Info'.
  3. Tap  of the version and then 'Preview' to view the content of the file.

PC Web

  1. Click on the top.
  2. Click 'Drive'.
  3. Hover the mouse over the file to view the version history.
  4. Click .
  5. Click 'Version History'. You can preview the contents of the file by clicking .

Drive App

  1. .Tap for the file to view the version history.
  2. Tap 'Version History'.

Drive Explorer

  1. Right-click a file to view the version history.
  2. Click 'NAVER WORKS Drive > Version History'.
    You can preview the contents of the file by clicking of the version.

Restore

You can restore to a specific version in the version history if necessary. You can restore to previous versions of the file only if you have overwritten the existing file when uploading.

Also, you can only restore document and image file formats. The administrator can add or remove file formats in addition to the default ones.

Before restoring to the previous versions, you can preview the content of the files.

Mobile

  1. Tap  of the file.
  2. Tap 'More Info'.
  3. Tap 'See file version history'.
  4. Tap  of the version you want to restore.
  5. Tap 'Restore'.
    Tap 'Preview' to see the content of the file.

PC Web

  1. Click on the top.
  2. Click 'Drive'.
  3. Hover the mouse over the file version you want to restore.
  4. Click .
  5. Click 'Version History'.
  6. Click 'Restore' of the version you want to restore. You can preview the contents of the file by clicking of the version.
  7. Click 'OK'.

Drive App

  1. Tap of the file.
  2. Tap 'Version History'.
  3. Tap for the version you want to restore and tap 'Preview' to preview the contents of the file.
  4. Tap 'Restore' to restore.

Drive Explorer

  1. Right-click the file to view the version history.
  2. Click 'NAVER WORKS Drive > Version History'.
  3. Click 'Restore' of the version you want to restore. You can preview the contents of the file by clicking of the version.
  4. Click 'OK'.

Delete a version

You can delete a specific version of a file. 

Version history of My Drive uses personal storage space, and deleting it can free up personal storage.

Version history of collaborative folders and message room folders use shared storage, and deleting it can free up shared storage.

Mobile

  1. Tap  of the file.
  2. Tap 'More Info'.
  3. Tap 'See file version history'.
  4. Tap  of the version you want to delete.
  5. Tap 'Delete'.

PC Web

  1. Click on the top.
  2. Click 'Drive'.
  3. Hover the mouse over the file to delete a version.
  4. Click .
  5. Click 'Version History'.
  6. Click  of the version you want to delete.
  7. Click 'OK'.

Drive App

  1. Tap of the file.
  2. Tap 'Version History'.
  3. Tap for the version you want to delete and tap 'Delete'.

Drive Explorer

  1. Right-click the file to view the version history.
  2. Click 'NAVER WORKS Drive > Version History'.
  3. Click  of the version you want to delete.
  4. Click 'OK'.
Was this article helpful?
  • Yes
  • No
Sorry about that! Please tell us why.
  • The information provided in the guide is wrong.
  • The information is difficult to understand.
  • There is insufficient information on specific devices. (e.g. There is no explanation on Mobile.)
  • Other

How can we make it better?

Thank you for your feedback!